MINUTES OF THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF PAMPA, TEXAS SPECIAL MEETING – CANVASSING ELECTION M.K. BROWN AUDITORIUM-HERITAGE ROOM MONDAY MAY 10, 2021

CALL TO ORDER:	Mayor Brad Pingel at 4:01 p.m.			
PRESENT:	Brad Pingel Gary Winton Jimmy Keough	Mayor Commissioner Commissioner		
ABSENT:	Karen McLain	Commissioner		
STAFF:	Shane Stokes Bryan Guymon Karen Price Robin Bailey Dustin Miller Gary Turley Lance Richburg Greg Lee Theresa Daniels Jason Roberts Brian Massey Luke Wimmer Charlene Gardner Neal Gardner Elaine Johnson Jesse Hanes Derek Murray Wes Schaffer Kevin Webb	City Manager City Attorney City Secretary Finance Director Community Services Director Director Public Works Chief of Police Fire Chief Asst. Finance Director Fire Marshal Sergeant-Police Accountant Deputy City Secretary Sergeant-Police Municipal Court Judge Captain-Fire Equipment Operator-Fire Emergency Mgt. Coordinator IT Manager		
VISITORS:	See Attached List of Visitors	3		
NEWS MEDIA:	John Lee	Pampa News		
INVOCATION:	Byron Williamson	Commission Chaplain		
PUBLIC COMMENTS:	None			

AUTHORIZATIONS BY CITY COMMISSION:

21-088

1. Consider adopting Resolution No. R21-018, a Resolution of the City of Pampa canvassing the returns and declaring the results of the May 1, 2021 General and Special Elections. *Considerar la adopción de la Resolucion No. R21-018, una Resolución de la Ciudad de Pampa que recoge las declaraciones y declara el resultado de las Elecciones Generales y Especiales del 1 de mayo de 2021.*

RESOLUTION NO. R21-018

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY OF PAMPA, TEXAS CANVASSING THE RETURNS AND DECLARING RESULTS OF THE MAY 1, 2021 GENERAL ELECTION FOR THE PURPOSE OF ELECTING A MAYOR AND COMMISSIONER FOR WARD 1 AND WARD 3 AND A SPECIAL ELECTION FOR THE PURPOSE OF ELECTING A COMMISSIONER FOR WARD 2 AND WARD 4 TO FILL UNEXPIRED TERMS.

A motion was made by Commissioner Winton and Seconded by Commissioner Keough to adopt Resolution No. R21-018, a Resolution of the City of Pampa canvassing the returns and declaring the results as per the official Canvassing Report provided to the City of Pampa by the Gray County Elections Administrator of the May 1, 2021 General and Special Elections, declaring the winners of the General Election as: Lance DeFever-Mayor; Paul Searl-Commissioner Ward 1 and Jimmy Keough-Commissioner Ward 3 and the winners of the Special Election as Brian Doughty-Commissioner Ward 2 and Bryan Fisher-Commissioner Ward 4, with each Commission Member voting AYE, the motion carried.

El Comisionado Winton y el Comisionado Keough han formulado una moción para adopter la Resolución No. R21-018, una Resolución de la Ciudad de Pampa que examina las devoluciones y declara los resultados según el Informe official de Investigacion proporcionado a la Ciuda de Pampa por el Administrador electoral del Condado de Gray de las Elecciones Generales y Especiales del 1 de mayo de 2021, declarando a los ganadores de las Elecciones Generales como: Lance DeFever-Mayor; Paul Searl-Comisionado Sala 1 y Jimmy Keough-Comisionado Sala 3 y los ganadores de la Eleccion Especial como Brian Doughty-Comisionado Sala 2 y Bryan Fisher-Comisionado Sala 4, con cada miembro de la Comision votando AYE, la moción fue aprobada.

CANDIDATES FOR MAYOR – FOUR (4) YEAR TERM

SINGLE POLLING PLACE M.K. Brown Auditorium			Absentee Voting	Early Voting	Total F	Percentage
NAME			6	6		
Matt Rains		216	86	483	785	41.25%
Lance E. DeFe	ever	281	198	639	1,118	58.75%

CANDIDATES FOR CITY COMMISSIONER, WARD 1 – FOUR (4) YEAR TERM

	SINGLE POLLING PLACE M.K. Brown Auditorium	Absentee Voting	Early Voting	Total	Percentage
NAME					
Paul Searl	320	172	746	1,238	69.32%
Pam Martin	147	81	320	548	30.68%

CANDIDATE FOR CITY COMMISSIONER, WARD 2 – TWO (2) YEAR UNEXPIRED TERM

SINGLE POLLING PLACE M.K. Brown Auditorium			Absentee Voting	Early Voting	Total	Percentage	
NAME							
Brian Doughty	У	444	195	999	1,638	100.00%	

CANDIDATE FOR CITY COMMISSIONER, WARD 3 – FOUR (4) YEAR TERM

SINGLE POLLING PLACE M.K. Brown Auditorium NAME			Absentee Voting	Early Voting	Total	Percentage	
			C				
Jimmy Keoug	h	433	200	999	1,632	100.00%	

CANDIDATES FOR CITY COMMISSIONER, WARD 4 – TWO (2) YEAR UNEXPIRED TERM

SINCLE DOLLING DLACE

SINULE FULLINU FLACE				
	Absentee	Early		
M.K. Brown Auditorium	Voting	Voting	Total	Percentage

NAME

Bryan Fisher	228	137	538	903	50.19%
Laura McGrath	242	116	538	896	49.81%

Mayor Brad Pingel concluded the canvass of the May 1, 2021 General and Special Elections at 4:07 p.m.

Remarks by Mayor Brad Pingel

Presentations to outgoing Mayor and Commissioners – Shane Stokes, City Manager

Mayor Pingel presents Certificates of Election to Newly Elected Officials

Oath of Office administered to Newly Elected Officials by Karen Price, City Secretary

Presentation of Gavel to Newly Elected Mayor

Presentation of New Mayor and Commission

ADJOURNED:

There being no further business on the Agenda, the meeting was adjourned at 4:42 p.m. by Mayor Lance DeFever.

Karen L. Price, City Secretary

Brad Pingel, Mayor

RECEPTION IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING MEETING

List of Visitors (signed-in) attending May 10, 2021 Special Meeting

Byron Williamson Lisa Fisher Stacy Doughty Kenzee Doughty Dori Miller Aubrey DeFever Brooke DeFever Danny Searl Clay Rice Bob & Virginia Carmichael Johnny Acord Orville Blades Jerry E. Carlson Rigger Watts Gregor Reeves Shawna Elliott Suzanne Pingel Ron Ross Glenanna Ross Robin Kelly Linda Searl Jodi Pingel Treasa Heuston Robin Keough Sheila Winton Doug Carmichael Sandee Stokes John Lee Jamisen Hancock Tim Fisher Heather Fisher Kathy Cavalier Brenda Condo Cleo Meaker Audrey Meaker Karen Goodman Sue Fatheree Nadia Silva Randa Hiett Jana Vinson